So, life.

The thing about social media that really keeps me from “succeeding” at it (besides my naturally dour temperament) is that I am generally only interested in blogging and Facebook and Twitter and such when I am NOT writing or creating any unique fiction in my head.

So, when my brain finally kicks into creative mode and story ideas start seeping out of my dreams and onto a page, my blogging gets shot all to hell. I unfriend or block a lot of people on Facebook. And Twitter, hah, that useless orgy of “pay attention to me! I am clever! Look, I can make a saucy tweet!” . . . I just drop that like a hot potato.

Which is good news for my creative mind– it frees me from worrying about creating new content for my blog, from keeping up with whatever memes are making the rounds, and from wasting time trying to “keep up” with social media, something I highly doubt is possible without a cadre of personal assistants, anyway. The creative mind really doesn’t function on a social level– it’s as one-track-mind as a coonhound on a scent. All it can think about is chasing the trail of the tale, so to speak.

I’ve been reading a book this week about how the mind functions (it’s called “The Organized Mind: Thinking Straight in the Age of Information Overload”) and I’ve taken a few hints out of it– I’ve started organizing my thoughts on index cards, started making an effort to put things in the exact same place every time (like my perpetually lost keys), and generally have been trying to be more mindful of what I ask of my poor overloaded brain cells. I’ve decided NOT to give up on blogging, mostly because I hate having yet another failed blog drifting around on the archived vaults of some huge server somewhere. And also because I like to have a sort of record around, documenting how things were going at a certain point in time.

Connecting, socializing, the neverending tail-chasing of trying to get more likes and friends and followers and schmoozing and getting other authors to link to you to create “synergy” and “buzz” . .  well, not so much. Not at all, really. I have given up on that aspect of my writing life. If I write something and it sells to a publisher and I absolutely must do those things, I will force myself to. In the meantime, I’ll link to what I like and to whom I please, without worrying about the possibility that it may or may not increase my “buzz.”

Okay, so what does this all mean? It means I’ll be organizing my posts by days– Mondays will be “What I’m watching”, Wednesdays will be “What I’m reading”, and Fridays will be “Adventures in Homeschooling and Gaming.” That makes it simpler on me and also keeps up with the general “goal” of the blog.

I can tell you right now that this week’s adventures in homeschooling will be a big fat nothing, as I have a dreadful cold and can barely breathe. Our D&D game was supposed to start this week but a dungeonmaster SHOULD be able to speak and I can barely croak out a word or two right now, so that’s going to have to be cancelled. The kids are basically running around like little savages, playing Minecraft and drinking soda pop because I am way too breathless and exhausted to chase them.

But, life goes on. Maybe now it will go on with a little more organization. Which should free me to do what I really want to be doing, which is working on the short story that’s cluttering my imagination and then moving on to the novel that is waiting to be unfurled. . . . I love it when my mind actually WORKS for once and doesn’t just leave me adrift without ideas. Have to make hay while the sun shines, as they say.

Leave a Reply

