Late, late, for a very important date (Quick Lit)

So, my friend Terry posted a quick review of the things she’s been reading lately, part of a blog roundup through Modern Mrs. Darcy. I figured I should do a fast update since Wednesday here was SO crazy and I missed posting entirely. My reading lately has been sporadic at best, but this is what I’ve been working through.

Spain Spain, A Culinary Road Trip by Mario Batali

Gwyneth Paltrow and Mario Batali take a road trip through Spain with a couple of also-rans (who get short shrift throughout) but the food looks great and the gorgeous scenery makes one almost wish to have been there. Except for the part where one would probably have strangled Ms. Paltrow just around the part where she says . . . well, anything, really. The pictures are great, though.

serpents The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan

Wow, this book has so much lazy worldbuilding in it that I’m having a hard time getting through it. I have enough complaints about this type of stuff to write an article– and probably will, instead of complaining here. But, yeah, amusing enough, if you can get past the sometimes half-hearted approach to actually thinking through the entire socio-political structure of a fantasy world. I mean, I’m reading it. I’m not entirely unhappy. I’m just not impressed.

decluttering 200 Tips for De-Cluttering

Oh my gosh, this book is a monster. It must weigh five pounds. I haven’t been able to figure out yet if it’s supposed to actually have tips in it or if some publisher just went wildly off-base in the photography department, slapped a huge pile of photos together, and called it a home organization book. I suspect the latter. Really *neat* photos, some of them, don’t get me wrong, but if you’re looking for meaningful ways to part with Aunt Alice’s crockery collection without dying of guilt, this is not the book for you.

flehs Flesh and Spirit by Carol Berg

More people should read Carol Berg’s fantasy. Yes, yes, it has a lot of the same pitfalls as most fantasy and there’s a lot of angst, but she’s a good writer  and her characters actually have reason to be angsty beyond the usual Bildungsroman tropes. The art on this book is terrible but I really enjoyed it. Plus, it’s cheap. What more reason do you need to read it?

Another post tomorrow, one hopes. Yesterday was a dreary sort of day with too much chaos to even think. Miss Autism discovered how to open windows to escape the house, since we’d locked the doors. So we’re back on lockdown, alarms all on, cameras, locks, you name it. This is getting really old and it sort of makes one wish to just curl up in bed with a heating pad and ignore the dreary day. Today, of course, all that rain combined with 85 degree heat to make it unbearable outside, so we’re all hiding and drinking soda pop and ignoring the swampy outdoors. The mosquitoes don’t bear thinking about, either.

In other words, we’re livin’ in de Nile. In more ways than one! Gah, it’s a swamp out there. I expect crocodiles have taken up in the lettuce patch.

Back to my books in the nice air conditioning.

One thought on “Late, late, for a very important date (Quick Lit)

  1. “Except for the part where one would probably have strangled Ms. Paltrow just around the part where she says . . . well, anything, really. ”

    This made me laugh out loud!!!! Exactly how I feel about Ms. P!

Leave a Reply

