One Beautiful Thing

March is my birthday month, and I have something special I want to ask for from all of you who read (frequently or infrequently) my blog. Yes, I am asking you for a birthday present!

What I want is simple: I want you, in the month of March, to buy yourself One Beautiful Thing.

I firmly believe in William Morris’s maxim: “If you want a golden rule that will fit everything, this is it: Have nothing in your houses that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” Now, I never quite get there, but I try. I realized recently that I am missing some of the beautiful things that I used to have.

I used to have African violets in the house, but they perished during one move or another and I never replaced them. They’re beautiful little flowers and I love them, and I am going to buy myself a pot of them and put it on my kitchen window shelf. It’s NOT an expensive proposition, maybe $5? But I will have something beautiful that I love sitting on my shelf and I can look at them and feel happier.

So, please, for the sake of sentimental soon-to-be 41 year old women, use this March as an opportunity to bring a little beauty into your life. Maybe it’s a picture for the wall, maybe a pot of flowers, silk or real, perhaps a throw for the couch that’s in a gorgeous shade of your favorite color. Whatever it is, splurge on it and make your life a little happier this spring.

Leave a Reply

